Going Forward

I am not the same person I used to be. The last five years have been a series of steps that have brought me to a place within myself that I never imagined. Some of the experiences were great and some of them I’ll just call learning opportunities. I am excited about where I am today and I’m eternally grateful to the people who helped me get here, although most of them have no idea the role they played.

I am stronger than I ever thought I could be and I am much more aware of my abilities and the power I have in my own life. I know where I want to go, the problem is believing I can get there. Some days I do believe it and some days the scared person inside me is very loud saying nothing will ever change.

I’m reading a fantastic book right now, The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth, by John C. Maxwell. Most books I can fly through but this one has me really thinking about what I’m reading so I’m only a few chapters in. I read a simple, yet profound sentence yesterday: “We tend to get in life what we are willing to tolerate.” I know we’ve heard all kinds of versions of that same thing, but think about the words for a minute. It doesn’t mean just the way people treat us, but the way we treat ourselves. I know I’ve tolerated being afraid to make changes or stand up for what I know I need to do or even just want to do. I’ve tolerated situations and people because I was afraid to believe in my own self. I’m going forward from here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

