In the words of Nike

image
I get a lot of inspiration from other people, not necessarily about blogging but about life in general. Yesterday I was talking to a photographer friend of mine telling him how inadequate I feel as a writer of any sort. He told me that when he began as a photographer he often tried to copy other people’s style and as a result had a hard time producing work he really liked. I think we’ve probably all heard something similar to the next part of that; when he quit trying to copy other people and just do what he liked, it all feel into place.
I wonder how often we try to copy someone else because we feel like we don’t have the skill to succeed on our own? I’ve discovered when I try to write in someone else’s voice I have no idea where to go. My own words tend to get a little philosophical and dry. What that means for me – I really have no idea. I just know in order to figure out where I’m going, I have to quit trying to do something that’s not me.

2 thoughts on “In the words of Nike

  1. Hi, beautiful site. I like it. Being oneself is great. Of course, we can always learn from others; but we should not try to be others because hard as we may, we cannot be. We are all created unique with our own potential and talents which can take us to wherever we want to go. I am happy you love travelling; but you did not mention one place which I like to recommend to you: Africa; and specifically Cameroon. A family will be happy to host you. Keep on writing and we’ll keep on reading.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the kind comment and for taking time to look at my page. I’m glad you like it. Thank you for recommending Cameroon. Everyone I know that has been to Africa loved it and would go again.
      I agree with you completely about being ourselves. The older I get, the more I realize how true that is and how much I fought against it.
      Thank you again for stopping by and taking a minute to comment.
      Penne

      Like

Leave a Reply

