Where do you start?

Sometimes I wonder what we are really supposed to do here. I’m not talking about humanity, I think we are all supposed to treat each other with kindness and respect and that pretty much covers everything. I’m talking about personally, for those of us who didn’t have it all figured out at 7, how do we know where we’re going? Steve Jobs says you’ll know it when you find it. How the heck am I supposed to find it? Some days I feel like I’m destined to wander aimlessly through life until one day it’s just over. Some days I feel like I can take on the world and everything will fall into place. I’d like to think the latter is the actual answer. Seriously though, how do you know? I know what I want from life and I know where I want to be and I know it will take plenty of work BUT WHERE DO I START??? I wish I had the answers.

3 thoughts on “Where do you start?

  1. I think the answer to where do you start is fairly simple. It starts with a choice. Most people who feel overwhelmed by the idea of building toward something the wish are actually overwhelmed with the idea of making a choice. What if it is the wrong choice? How will I know? You can’t know you just have to decide if you want it badly enough to start. The real difficulty once you make that choice is to let the idea of what if go and not second guess yourself. Choose a path, put your time and energy toward it and if it doesn’t work or if it’s not what you imagined it would be then reassess and approach from a different angle but DON’T make the mistake of dividing your energies right from the start. There are lessons to be learned even in failure, in fact they are often the most important ones. The test will be in choosing to get back up and try again, it is not our success that defines us but our manner of dealing with making mistakes. True strength is not giving in, trying again. Sorry didn’t mean to preach at you, I just had a very good friend who would say similar things about not knowing etc all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

