Procrastination

I write about being motivated and pushing myself and I have quotes to encourage me however, what I don’t have is will-power.

I’m beginning to wonder exactly where will-power comes from? Are we all born with it or is it something we learn? If we do learn it, are their varying degrees? I ponder these things daily. I ponder a lot of things daily. Some useful, some useless. Mostly useless unless wondering how long I can let the kitchen floor go unswept before someone comments or better yet, sweeps it. I wonder where all my bathroom towels go. I’ve decided they are now in a league with the multiple missing socks and have conspired with my children to hasten my inevitable insanity.

When I wake up in the morning I have every intention of doing the things I put on yesterday’s list. I intend to go to the gym and to clean out my basement storage closet. I intend on getting the laundry caught up (minus a few socks and towels) and the all the floors swept. If I’m feeling especially motivated I like to think I’m going to get some yard work done.

I’ve learned that I need to make daily, realistic lists. I do that and I generally don’t get everything done. So where does the will-power to do them come from? I do know it is the opposite of procrastination so maybe a better question is why do we procrastinate. I know all the book answers. I guess what I want to know is why do I procrastinate. Some of my tasks are hard and I understand those but what about the rest? Laundry doesn’t take much effort, especially now that everyone can put their own stuff away. Spending an hour working in my basement will make me feel better but I still don’t do it. Where is the benefit in procrastinating? I can’t think of a single time that I’ve said “oh I’m so glad I was lazy and didn’t do that when I should have”. I can think of one hundred times I’ve said the opposite.

I still need to practice will-power. I haven’t quite mastered it yet. I need to tell myself to get off my butt and quit making excuses for why I’m not doing the things that need to get done. It is easier being lazy, but only in that moment. Tomorrow when it all still needs to be done it’s certainly not easier. Maybe instead of starting with small tasks I should start with moment by moment tasks such as shutting down my computer and putting my phone away. Quit thinking about what I wish I was doing instead of doing what needs to be done. I’m tired of tomorrow always being a good answer. Tomorrow should never be an answer for something I can do today. Thomas Jefferson said something to that effect and he’s definitely someone to emulate. (You should visit his house if you’re ever in Virginia btw).

How do you avoid procrastinating?

6 thoughts on “Procrastination

  1. If you don’t want to procrastinate, you can hire a really big guy to hurt you everytime you don’t get your goals accomplished. Yes I am joking, although it would probably be effective.

    That’s just it. Humans don’t do things when they don’t believe they have to. Everyone has their own version of what ‘have to’ is and what is not acceptable. I’m pretty easy going so nothing gets done until there are no more clean socks to wear(sometimes I will just wear dirty ones..ewww, I know).

    Like

Leave a Reply

