Just Keep Swimming

Sometimes the world seems to crash down around us. Sometimes it really does crash but maybe sometimes it’s just the things we need to let go of demanding to be let go. 

It’s easier for me to live in my comfort zone than to take the steps necessary to live a bigger life. I’m not afraid of a bigger life, I’m afraid of losing what I have (translation: what I’m comfortable with) for something completely unknown. I know I’m not alone in my fear because there are pages and pages of quotes about letting go of fear in order to move forward. I love the character Dory from the movie “Finding Nemo”. I would love to be able to move through life looking beyond the obstacles. I want to see them as a challenge at most and not a stop sign. I want to be able to keep moving in the right direction even when it’s dark and I have no idea what’s in front of me.

I am afraid, a huge chicken actually. I’m terrified that my choices may be wrong or that I’m not living in the real world or that I’m going to really screw something up.  I don’t want to be afraid and I’m not a fan of chicken in any form. I want to be able to let go of the things I need to let go of in order to have the life that I want. If I’m holding on its only because I can’t or won’t let go.  “Can’t” is no longer an option so that leaves “won’t”. If “won’t” is what’s holding me back then I have to ask myself how much do I really want it?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

