No More Can’t

I see myself as a failure. I have a husband who loves me, 3 amazing kids, a college degree, a beautiful home and yet something is still missing. I look inside myself and try to find the spark of who I really am. If something is missing is it just because I’ve chosen to be unhappy with life or is it because life has so much more for me? What do I want to do when I grow up? Who do I want to be?

Today I am going to start something new.

Today I am not a failure.

Today I am not too old.

Today I am going to find out what I can do when I tell myself I can do anything.

I know what doesn’t work so now I’m going to see what does. I have been a failure but not because I didn’t succeed; it’s because I didn’t try. I took the easy, safe route and it’s just not working for me. I want more. I don’t want to just play it safe and comfortable and accept that this is the life I have and I need to focus on what I have and just be happy. I have a lot and I know that. I have a lot more than a lot of people. I’m not ready to just grow old gracefully. I’m ready to live every day the way it’s meant to be lived.

Why now? Why today? Yesterday I read a quote by Steve Jobs that sunk in somewhere that all the others haven’t.

The only way to do great work is to LOVE what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, DON’T SETTLE. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know it when you find it.

Don’t Settle. Don’t Settle. “Don’t Settle”. DON’T SETTLE. DON’T SETTLE!

The founder of Buddhism said “You are what you think”. I believe that’s because we force the world around us to believe the same thing. Our desires shape our thoughts and our thoughts shape our actions.

Starting today and for the next 30 days I am going to tell myself everyday: I will succeed. I am going to find a way and I am going to get there. I will erase “can’t” from my vocabulary. I will erase “but” from my vocabulary.

Starting today I will not settle.

2 thoughts on “No More Can’t

    • Thanks! I’m planning on it. I hope the same for you. 🙂 It’s always reassuring to know we aren’t alone in our imperfections. Sometimes it feels like we are the only one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

